Sarband: What the World Needs Now

Available formats
Audio CD
15,99 €*
MP3
256kbs, with booklet (lyrics & translations)
8,99 €*
FLAC
24b/88,2kHz, with booklet (lyrics & translations)
11,99 €*
WAV
16b/44,1khz, with booklet (lyrics & translations)
10,99 €*
Audio samples
  • 01 Pretty Saro
  • 02 Nottamun Town / Masters of War
  • 03 Black is the Colour
  • 04 Ya Baiti
  • 05 Nochez son d'enamorar
  • 06 Venimos a ver
  • 07 Muove si dolce
  • 08 Mala l kasat
  • 09 The True Lover's Farewell
  • 10 Aiyuha saqi
  • 11 Love's Triumph
  • 12 Hala shaku?
  • 13 Porke yoras
  • 14 Triumph of Love
  • 15 Los bilbilikos kantan
  • 16 The Lover's True Farewell

Sarband: What the World Needs Now
…

American Joel Frederiksen & Syrian Rebal Alkhodari sing about the power of love.

Baroque arias & Arabic art songs, American folk songs & new songs of passion & suffering, farewell, the quest for home.  

CD & downloads in 3 formats (with interactive booklet, including lyrics & translations).

Only at Sarband's web shop: The Muse Alliance

spotify  iTunes  amazon  GooglePlay

More about the program on Sarband's web site: 

 www.sarband.de/Prog_WorldE

V. Ivanoff, artistic director
 / Rebal Alkhodari - tenor, oud (arab lute) / Joel Frederiksen - bass, lute, arciliuto / Mohamad Fityan - nay, kavala 
(arab reed-flutes) / Vladimir Ivanoff - percussion, oud 

 guest: Amjad Succar - percussion (6, 11, 12)

 

«There is a lot to discover in the concert: farewell and hope for reunion, homeland and outland, travels to the horizons, and human warmth. To express these hopes with songs from the homelands - with the feeling to be at home - the listeners experience this through beguilingly sweet bridge buildings. Closeness and yearning remain the poles of this ravishing evening … Far from the veils of folklore, creates an intimate liaison with the omnipresent topic of love. Sarband revels in poetry. “What the World Needs Now” becomes an impassioned plea for love between human beings. What the world needs now is love, not only for some, but for al - A peaceful fusion of cultures instead of the noise of war - Considering the contemporary development of conflicts between orient and occident, music as a lead would be the better alternative.» Robert Dotzauer, www.onetz.de, 31.8.16

«An excellent crossover of times and spaces … Wonderful to experience, how the artists from different origins in this exciting quartet, all living in Germany, found a common third homeland in their music. And their message, that love will overcome all wars - definitely to co-sign.» Antje Doßmann, Neue Westfälische, 1.8.17

 

recording: Bayreuth, Daniel Wierczeiko & Nils Schröder

post production: Daniel Wierczeiko, Nils Schröder, Vladimir Ivanoff

artistic producer: Vladimir Ivanoff

 

© & ℗V. Ivanoff / The Muse Alliance 2018

American bass singer and lute player Joel Frederiksen and Syrian singer and oud player Rebal Alkhodari sing about love, which conquers everything and unites all, and accompany themselves on their lutes. Mohamad Fityan and Vladimir Ivanoff, experienced bridge builders between Orient and Occident, complete the travel party with nay, percussion and oud.

Farewell and the hope for reunion, the tension between home and the unknown, travels to the horizons, human warmth, closeness and longing: two Syrian musicians, one American and one Bulgarian, all migrants in Germany, make music together. They present the songs of their home countries to each other, their geographical, but also their musical homeland, formed by their personal interests.

With Italian baroque arias and American folk songs, Arabic art songs, and compositions they created themselves, they establish a common homeland. And they hope that their endeavors are an incentive for some to do the important and simple - to reach out one’s hand. In this era with its seemingly never ending political turmoil and human disorientation, the willingness of every individual person to shake hands is maybe the most effective political statement: the power of love.

Love is nurtured by desire. In the American version of the British ballad “Pretty Saro” (1, from around 1749), the longing of a lover in a foreign land (America) for his unreachable beloved gives him wings of hope with which to fly. Sometimes, passion changes into suffering. The Scottish-American folk song “Black is the Colour” (3) is about the farewell from the beloved and how the lover must ”suffer death ten thousand times” before being reunited. In „The True Lover’s Farewell“ (9), in order to reassure his beloved that there will be a reunion, the lover even conjures all the forces of nature together.

When love dies, with it also hope might wane, and rage awake. The English-American ballad “Nottamun Town” (2) describes an apocalyptic scenario, the end of all time, the endless desperation and loneliness of the individual amongst the ten thousand that “ got drowned that never was born”. Bob Dylan used the conjuring power of this song’s melody for his “Masters of War” (2), to hurl his shocked fury at the powerful, the racketeers, the plotters of the war in Vietnam. In his “Triumph of Love” (14), Joel Frederiksen cites the melody of “Black is the Colour” (3), hence expressing his desperate feelings about the tragic situation of today’s Syrian refugees, but also his hope for our tolerance and the awareness of our personal responsibility.

The horrors of war can be so terrifying, that they even suffocate the fury of its victims. In „Ya baiti“ (4), Rebal Alkhodari describes the loss of his home and family in Syria with a weightlessly hopeless melody, loaded with melancholy.

Juvenile yearning still does not know about the finitude of love. The Sephardic (Spanish-Jewish) lullaby „Nochez son d’enamorar“ (5) tells about a young girl who, because of her longing for the first night of love, is not able to sleep. Her mother advises patience, because the pleasures of love will end soon enough, when she grows old and ugly. On the contrary, the wedding guests singing “Venimos a ver” (6), by building them a stairway from gold and ivory, wish the young couple a long and bright future.

In Arabic art songs as well as in 17th century Italian monody, supple virtuoso ornaments help to express love’s bliss and passion. In Giulio Caccini’s “Muove si dolce” (7, from the intermezzo “Il Rapimento di Cefalo”, Florence, 1600), Joel Frederiksen performs the original ornaments by Melchior Palantrotti, the Italian singer for whom this song was composed. Finally, with some improvised arabesques, he leads the Italian song into the following Arabic Zaǧal „Mala l-kasat“ (8). With expressive ornaments, this erotic song’s meandering melody describes the seductive slender waist and figure of a young man. At first glance, also the Medieval Arabic „Aiyuha s-saqi“ (10) seems to be a bacchanalian song. But in this sophisticated allegory, the drunken lover impersonates the believer, who begs the innkeeper (God) for another cup of wine - God’s gracious love.

The British country dance „Love’s Triumph“ (11) and the Arab dance song „Hala shaku?“ (12) evoke the satisfaction of erotic longing with a less sophisticated but vigorous atmosphere.

Love is an energy which inherently may not have a direction and can also change its target. A wondrous story, the Sephardic romance “Porke yoras niniya bella” (13) tells about the power and the marvels of love. A young Spanish knight sets out to fight the infidels, falls in love and forgets about war, loses his beloved, but in the end finds his lost sister!

Perhaps the most popular of all Sephardic songs, “Los bilbilikos kantan” (15), paints a moving picture of love’s passion and suffering over an unforgettable melody: “The nightingales sing on the flowering tree. Below sit those who suffer of love.“

V. Ivanoff

01 - Pretty Saro 
          traditional, England & USA   2:52

02 - In Nottamun Town
          traditional, England & USA 

          Masters of War
          lyrics: Bob Dylan (1941-), melody: In Nottamun Town   6:40

03 - Black is the Colour 
          traditional, Scotland & USA    3:54

04 - Ya baiti 
          lyrics: Rāmī al-ʿĀšiq, music: Rebal Alkhodari    4:27

05 -  Nochez son d’enamorar
           traditional Sephardic, Bosnia    6:29

06 - Venimos a ver
          traditional Sephardic, Balkans.  2:07

07-  Muove si dolce 
          lyrics: Gabriello Chiabrera (1552-1638), music: Giulio Caccini (1551-1618)    3:44

08 - Mala ’l-kasat 
          lyrics: Aḥmad ʿĀšūr Sulaimān (-1924), music: Muḥammad ʿUṯmān (1855–1900)   5:08

09 - The True Lover's Farewell traditional, England & USA   3:41

10 - Aiyuha s-saqi 
          lyrics: Ibn Zuhr al-Ḥafīd al-Išbīlī (1113–1199), music: traditional Al-Andalus    5:54

11 - Love’s Triumph 
         The Dancing Master, Vol. II, John Young (John & Henry Playford) ed., 1713     2:40

12 - Hala shaku? 
          lyrics: Saifaddīn Walāʾī, music: Muḥammad Maḥmūd Ǧabr.   2:32 

13 - Porke yoras ninya bella 
          traditional Sephardic, Morocco & Spain    5:58 

14 - Triumph of Love 
          lyrics & music: Joel Frederiksen (2015)    4:14 

15 - Los bilbilikos kantan 
         traditional Sephardic, Bulgaria, Turkey, Greece, Libya, Israel    8:01 

16 - The Lover's True Farewell 
          variations on „The True Lover’s Farewell    2:09 

          70:30




* incl. Vat, excl. shipping

Sarband: What the World Needs Now

Ausführungen
Audio CD
15,99 €*
MP3
256kbps, mit Booklet (Texte & Übersetzungen)
8,99 €*
FLAC
24b/88,2kHz, mit Booklet (Texte & Übersetzungen)
11,99 €*
WAV
16b/44,1khz, mit Booklet (Texte & Übersetzungen)
10,99 €*
Hörproben
  • 01 Pretty Saro
  • 02 Nottamun Town / Masters of War
  • 03 Black is the Colour
  • 04 Ya Baiti
  • 05 Nochez son d'enamorar
  • 06 Venimos a ver
  • 07 Muove si dolce
  • 08 Mala l kasat
  • 09 The True Lover's Farewell
  • 10 Aiyuha saqi
  • 11 Love's Triumph
  • 12 Hala shaku?
  • 13 Porke yoras
  • 14 Triumph of Love
  • 15 Los bilbilikos kantan
  • 16 The Lover's True Farewell

Sarband: What the World Needs Now
…

Der Amerikaner Joel Frederiksen & der Syrer Rebal Alkhodari singen gemeinsam über die Macht der Liebe.

Barocke Arien und arabische Kunstlieder, amerikanische Volkslieder und neue Lieder über Leid & Leidenschaft, den Abschied & die Suche nach Heimat.

CD & Downloads in 3 Formaten (mit interaktivem Booklet, Liedtexten & Übersetzungen).

Nur hier im Web Shop von Sarband: The Muse Alliance.

spotify  iTunes  amazon  GooglePlay

Mehr über das Programm auf der Webseite von Sarband: 

http://www.sarband.de/Prog_WorldD

 V. Ivanoff, künstlerische Leitung
 / Rebal Alkhodari - Tenor, Ud (arabische Laute),  / Joel Frederiksen - Bass, Laute, Arciliuto / Mohamad Fityan - Nay, Kawala
(arabische Rohrflöten) / Vladimir Ivanoff - Perkussion, Ud 

 Gast: Amjad Succar - Perkussion (6, 11, 12)

«Es gibt vieles zu entdecken im Konzert: Abschied und Hoffnung auf das Wiedersehen, Heimat und Fremde, Reisen zu den Horizonten und menschliche Wärme. Diese Hoffnungen in Liedern aus der Heimat auszudrücken - mit dem Gefühl, zu Hause zu sein - erfahren die Zuhörer mit betörend süßen Brückenschlägen. Nähe und Sehnsucht bleiben die Pole dieses hinreißenden Abends … Fernab von Schleiern der Folklore geht das Ensemble eine innige Verbindung mit dem allgegenwärtigen Thema der Liebe ein. Sarband schwelgt in Poesie. "What the World Needs Now" wird zum leidenschaftlichen Appell an die Liebe unter den Menschen. Was die Welt jetzt braucht, ist Liebe, nicht nur für einige, sondern für alle. Eine friedliche Fusion der Kulturen mit hinreißender Musik anstelle von Kampfeslärm. Die Musik als Ton- und Taktgeber wäre auch für die aktuelle politische Entwicklung zwischen Orient und Okzident die bessere Alternative.» Robert Dotzauer, www.onetz.de, 31.8.16

«Ein zeit- und weltmusikalisches Crossover allerfeinster Güte… Wunderbar mitzuerleben, wie die aus verschiedenen Ländern stammenden, in Deutschland lebenden Künstler dieses aufregenden Quartetts in der Musik eine gemeinsame dritte Heimat gefunden haben. Und unbedingt zu unterschreiben ihre Botschaft, die lautete, dass Liebe alle Kriege überwinden wird.» Antje Doßmann, Neue Westfälische, 1.8.17

 

Aufnahme Bayreuth: Daniel Wierczeiko & Nils Schröder

Postproduktion: Daniel Wierczeiko, Nils Schröder, Vladimir Ivanoff

Künstlerischer Produzent: Vladimir Ivanoff

 

© & ℗V. Ivanoff / The Muse Alliance 2018

Der amerikanische Sänger und Lautenist Joel Frederiksen und der syrische Sänger und Ud-Spieler Rebal Alkhodari singen von der Liebe, die alles besiegt, alles vereint, und begleiten sich dabei auf Laute und Ud (arabische Laute).

Mohamad Fityan und Vladimir Ivanoff, erfahrene Brückenbauer zwischen Orient und Okzident, sind mit Nay (arabische Rohrflöte), Perkussion und Ud die Wegbegleiter der beiden fahrenden Sänger.

Abschied und Hoffnung auf das Wiedersehen, die Spannung zwischen Heimat und Fremde, Reisen zu den Horizonten und menschliche Wärme, Nähe und Sehnsucht: zwei syrische Musiker, ein Amerikaner und ein Bulgare, alle Migranten in Deutschland, musizieren gemeinsam. Sie stellen einander Lieder ihrer Heimat vor, ihrer geographischen aber auch ihrer „zweiten“ Heimat: ihren musikalischen Interessen.

Mit barocker Vokalmusik und amerikanischen Folksongs, arabischen Kunstliedern und neu geschriebenen Liedern schaffen sie sich eine gemeinsame Heimat. Und sie hoffen, dass ihr Brückenschlag als Anregung dienen kann, das Wichtige und Einfache zu tun - die Hand auszustrecken.

In dieser Zeit mit immer neuen und nicht enden wollenden politischen Unruhen und menschlicher Orientierungslosigkeit, ist der persönliche Wille, die Hand zu reichen, vielleicht die wirksamste Politik: die Macht der Liebe.
 Liebe wird von Sehnsucht genährt.

In der amerikanischen Fassung der englischen Ballade „Pretty Saro“ (1, um 1749 entstanden) ist es die Sehnsucht des Liebenden in der Fremde nach der unerreichbaren Geliebten jenseits des „großen Wassers“, die ihm Flügel der Hoffnung verleiht. Manchmal verwandelt sich die Leidenschaft der Liebe in Leid. Im schottisch-amerikanischen Volkslied „Black is the colour“ (3) geht es um den Abschied und die „zehntausend Tode“, die der Liebende sterben muss, bis er wieder mit seiner Geliebten vereint ist. „The True Lover’s Farewell“ (9) beschwört sogar die Naturgewalten, um der Geliebten zu versichern, dass es ein Wiedersehen geben wird.

Wenn die Liebe stirbt, stirbt meist auch die Hoffnung und Verzweiflung und Wut erwachen. Die englisch-amerikanische Ballade „Nottamun Town“ (2) erzählt von der Apokalypse, dem Ende aller Zeiten, der endlosen Hoffnungslosigkeit und Einsamkeit des Individuums unter den „Zehntausend, die ertranken ohne geboren zu werden“. Bob Dylan nutzte die beschwörende Kraft dieser Melodie, um den „Masters of War“ (2), den Mächtigen, Geschäftemachern und Ränkeschmieden im Vietnamkrieg, seinen fassungslosen Zorn entgegen zu schleudern. Joel Frederiksen zitiert in seinem Lied „Triumph of Love“ (14) die Melodie von „Black is the Colour“ (3). Er drückt damit seine Verzweiflung über die tragische Situation der heutigen syrischen Migranten unsere Gleichgültigkeit ihnen gegenüber aus. Aber auch seine Hoffnung darauf, dass wir Toleranz üben und uns unserer persönlichen Verantwortung bewusst werden.

Kriegsleid kann so groß sein, dass selbst die Wut erstickt wird. Es bleibt nur die Trauer der Überlebenden, die keine Heimat mehr finden. In „Ya baiti“ (4) singt Rebal Alkhodari in schwere- und hoffnungsloser Melancholie vom Verlust seiner syrischen Heimat und Familie.

Jugendliche Sehnsucht kennt die Endlichkeit der Liebe noch nicht. Im sefardischen (spanisch-jüdischen) Wiegenlied „Nochez son d’enamorar“ (5) findet ein junges Mädchen wegen ihrer Sehnsucht nach der ersten Liebe keinen Schlaf. Die Mutter mahnt sie zur Geduld, denn die Zeit der Liebe wird, wenn ihre Tochter im Alter ihre Schönheit verloren haben wird, nur zu schnell wieder enden. Dagegen soll das Treppchen aus Gold und Elfenbein, welches die Hochzeitsgäste in „Venimos a ver“ (6) mit ihren Gaben bauen, der Braut helfen, ihr Eheglück möglichst lange zu genießen.

Geschmeidig-virtuose melodische Wendungen dienen im arabischen Kunstlied, wie auch in der frühbarocken italienischen Monodie, der affektgeladenen Darstellung von Liebesglück und Leidenschaft. Joel Frederiksen singt in seiner Interpretation von Giulio Caccinis „Muove si dolce“ (7, aus dem Intermezzo „Il Rapimento di Cefalo“, Florenz, 1600) die in Notation erhaltenen Verzierungen des ersten Sängers dieser Komposition, Melchior Palantrotti. Mit einigen improvisierten Arabesken leitet er dann das italienische Lied in den Zaǧal (ein klassisch-arabisches Versmaß) „Mala l-kasat“ (8) über. In diesem erotischen Trinklied beschreibt die mäandernde Melodie mit expressiven Ornamenten die verführerische Figur eines schönen Jünglings. Auch in dem mittelalterlichen arabischen Lied „Aiyuha s-saqi“ (10) scheint es um den Wein und eine Liebesnacht zu gehen. In diesem feinsinnigen Gleichnis verkörpert jedoch der trunkene Liebende den Gläubigen, der den Wirt (Gott) um einen weiteren Becher Wein (Gottes gnadenvolle Liebe) anfleht.

Dagegen beschwören der britische Country Dance „Love’s Triumph“ (11) und das arabische Tanzlied „Hala shaku?“ (12) die Erfüllung erotischer Sehnsucht weniger feinsinnig, aber dafür um so kraftvoller.

Liebe ist eine Energie, die in ihrem Ursprung vielleicht keine Richtung hat und ihr Ziel wechseln kann. Liebessehnsucht - Trennung - Vereinigung; die sefardische Romansa „Porke yoras ninya bella“ (13) fasst das alles zusammen: mit der wundersamen Erzählung vom Ritter, der die Ungläubigen bekämpfen will, sich verliebt und darüber den Krieg vergisst, seine Geliebte verliert, aber damit seine verloren geglaubte Schwester wieder findet.

Das heute vielleicht bekannteste sefardische Lied, „Los bilbilikos kantan“ (15), zeichnet zum Abschluss ein Bild von der Leidenschaft und dem Leid der Liebe: „Es singen die Nachtigallen auf dem blühenden Baum. Darunter sitzen die, die an der Liebe leiden.“

V. Ivanoff

01 - Pretty Saro 
          traditional, England & USA   2:52

02 - In Nottamun Town
          traditional, England & USA 

          Masters of War
          lyrics: Bob Dylan (1941-), melody: In Nottamun Town   6:40

03 - Black is the Colour
          traditional, Scotland & USA    3:54

04 - Ya baiti
          lyrics: Rāmī al-ʿĀšiq, music: Rebal Alkhodari    4:27

05 -  Nochez son d’enamorar
           traditional Sephardic, Bosnia    6:29

06 - Venimos a ver
          traditional Sephardic, Balkans.  2:07

07-  Muove si dolce
          lyrics: Gabriello Chiabrera (1552-1638), music: Giulio Caccini (1551-1618)    3:44

08 - Mala ’l-kasat
          lyrics: Aḥmad ʿĀšūr Sulaimān (-1924), music: Muḥammad ʿUṯmān (1855–1900)   5:08

09 - The True Lover's Farewell traditional, England & USA   3:41

10 - Aiyuha s-saqi
          lyrics: Ibn Zuhr al-Ḥafīd al-Išbīlī (1113–1199), music: traditional Al-Andalus    5:54

11 - Love’s Triumph
         The Dancing Master, Vol. II, John Young (John & Henry Playford) ed., 1713     2:40

12 - Hala shaku?
          lyrics: Saifaddīn Walāʾī, music: Muḥammad Maḥmūd Ǧabr.   2:32

13 - Porke yoras ninya bella
          traditional Sephardic, Morocco & Spain    5:58

14 - Triumph of Love
          lyrics & music: Joel Frederiksen (2015)    4:14

15 - Los bilbilikos kantan
         traditional Sephardic, Bulgaria, Turkey, Greece, Libya, Israel    8:01

16 - The Lover's True Farewell
          variations on „The True Lover’s Farewell    2:09

          70:30




* inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten (ausser Downloads)